Trash

The Trash feature enables you to manage deleted documents. You can restore the documents for users or delete them permanently. When documents are deleted, they are no longer visible in search results or when browsing through folders. However, they are available in the User Trash, a feature in client applications, as well as in iManage Control Center under Trash. When documents are restored, its location, metadata, and security are restored along with the documents.

NOTE:

Trash is also available in iManage Work client applications for the end users. Users can access only those documents that they have deleted and restore them. However, they cannot delete documents permanently.

Trash feature enables you to:

  • Using the Search Fields you can filter by Doc num, Version, Deleted by, Deleted Date, author/operator, full text, Custom 1, Custom 2, and so on. This helps you perform a search for deleted documents.

  • Restore documents that were deleted by users from client applications using the Restore option.

  • Permanently delete documents using the Permanently Delete option.

  • View the details of a document using the View option. This helps you get more information before permanently deleting or restoring documents .

  • View generic table options in UI overview section.

Searching for fields

Search fields are list of document properties using which you can perform advanced search for deleted documents. For example, Doc #, Version, Deleted By, Deleted Date, Author/Operator, Author, Operator, Comments, Class, Type, Created Date, Edited Date, Edit Profile Date, Default Security, and so on.

When you are on the Trash page, you see the following default search field list. Select Add Search Criteria to view the drop-down list of additional search fields. When you click Add Search Criteria drop-down list, you see the remaining list of search fields other than those selected.

NOTE:

  • Search results are limited to maximum of 5000 items.

  • The Page # button is disabled as the backend API do not return the total count of documents. So, you only have the capability to navigate forward or backward .

Figure: Default Search fields on Trash page

images/download/attachments/65983186/Trash_Default.png

Restoring documents

NOTE:

If the parent folder is deleted, you cannot restore the documents.

Single document

This option is available on the:

  • Ribbon bar: Select documents to see this option on the ribbon bar.

  • Kebab menu: S elect an images/download/thumbnails/65983186/elipse.png icon adjacent to each document to see this option.

  • Context menu: Right-click a document to see this option.

The following steps are explained using one of the preceding options:

  1. Enter filter parameters in the search fields to retrieve deleted document.

  2. If no records found,

    • Select Reset Search Criteria in the lower-right corner of the Search Criteria section.

    If records are found,

    • Hover the mouse pointer over the desired document, right-click, and select Restore . The Restore dialog box appears.

      NOTE:

      Restore all versions check box is available only when multiple versions of the selected document are in Trash. If you want to restore all the document versions, select this check box, and click Restore.

      Enter the following details:

    1. In the On Behalf Of field, enter the user ID for whom you want to restore document for.

    2. Optionally enter the Audit Comment.

    3. Select Restore. The deleted document is restored, along with its metadata and security, to the parent folder from where it was deleted.

    4. When the restoration is successful, select Copy Link on the progress bar to copy the link to the document in iManage Work; one link is created for each document.

    5. Send the copied link to the user, whose document you have restored . The user can paste these links in a browser and open the document in iManage Work.

Multiple documents

This option is available on the ribbon bar when you select documents.

  1. Enter filter parameters in the search fields to retrieve deleted documents.

  2. If no records found,

    • Select Reset Search Criteria in the lower-right corner of the Search Criteria section.

    If records are found,

    • Hover the mouse pointer over the desired document, right-click, and select Restore . The Restore dialog box appears.

      NOTE:

      Restore all versions check box is available only when multiple versions of the selected documents are in Trash. If you want to restore all the documents' versions, select this check box, and click Restore.

      Enter the following details:

    1. In the On Behalf Of field, enter the user ID for whom you want to restore documents for.

    2. Enter the Audit Comment and select Restore. The deleted documents is restored, along with its metadata and security, to the parent folder from where they are deleted.

    3. When the restoration is successful, select Copy Link on the progress bar to copy the link to the documents in iManage Work; one link is created for each document.

    4. Send the copied link to the user, whose documents you have restored . The user can paste these links in a browser and open the documents in iManage Work.

Permanently Deleting documents

This feature enables you to permanently delete documents.

CAUTION:

You cannot undo this action and the permanently deleted documents cannot be restored in future.

Single document

This option is available on the:

  • Ribbon bar: Select documents to see this option on the ribbon bar.

  • Kebab menu: Select an images/download/thumbnails/65983186/elipse.png icon adjacent to each document to see this option.

  • Context menu: Right-click a document to see this option.

The following steps are explained using one of the preceding options:

  1. Enter filter parameters in search fields to retrieve deleted documents.

  2. If no records are found,

    • Select Reset Search Criteria in the lower-right corner of the Search Criteria section.

    If records are found,

    • Hover the mouse pointer over the required document, right-click, and select Permanently Delete . The Permanently Delete dialog box appears . Confirm the action. If you select Delete , you receive an acknowledgement for the delete action. If you select Cancel , the delete action gets cancelled.

      NOTE:

      The Delete all versions check box is available only when multiple versions of the selected document are in Trash. If you want to permanently delete all the document versions, select this check box and select Delete.

Multiple documents

This option is available on the ribbon bar when you select documents.

  1. Enter filter parameters in the search fields to retrieve deleted documents.

  2. If no records found,

    • Select Reset Search Criteria in the lower-right corner of the Search Criteria section to reset the search action.

    If records are found,

    • Hover the mouse pointer over the required document, right-click, and select Permanently Delete . The Permanently Delete dialog box appears . Confirm the action. If you select Delete , you receive an acknowledgement for the delete action. If you select Cancel , the delete action gets cancelled.

    NOTE:

    Delete all versions check box is available only when multiple versions of the selected document are in Trash. If you want to permanently delete all the documents' versions, select this check box, and click Delete.

  • Click Delete.

Viewing document details

This option is available on the,

  • Kebab menu: Select an images/download/thumbnails/65983186/elipse.png icon adjacent to each document to see this option.

  • Context menu: Right-click a document to see this option.

  • Clickable link: I n the DOC#/Version column, select a document.

Use one of the above option and select View.

NOTE:

The Restore and Permanent delete actions can also be performed when you are on the View page.