Trash

The Trash page enables you to manage deleted documents. You can restore the documents for users or delete them permanently. When documents are deleted, they are no longer visible in search results or when browsing through folders. However, they are available in the User Trash, a feature in client applications, as well as in iManage Control Center under Trash. When a document is restored, its location, metadata, and security are restored along with the document.

NOTE:

End users can also access the Trash feature in iManage Work client applications. To enable this feature for end-users, see the User Trash setting on the Global settings page.

Use the Trash page to:

Searching for deleted documents

  1. Select Content > Trash. The list of default search fields appears as shown in the following figure:
    Figure: Trash page

    images/download/attachments/81009740/Trash_Default.png
  2. Use these search fields to refine your search, then select Search.

    NOTE:

    To add more search criteria, selectimages/download/thumbnails/81009740/Screen_Shot_2019-01-15_at_3.23.49_AM.png .

    With the Search button enabled, the images/download/thumbnails/81009740/Screen_Shot_2019-01-16_at_5.31.36_PM.png option is displayed; select it to reset the search criteria.

    In the preceding figure, the Hide Search Criteria toggle option is displayed.

    • To hide the search criteria and focus only on the list of filtered documents, select Hide Search Criteria.

    • Selecting Hide Search Criteria changes it to Show Search Criteria. Select this to view the search criteria list.

iManage Control Center preserves the search fields you enter when searching for documents, workspaces, or trash. When you add or remove search fields, your settings are automatically saved and will be present the next time you sign in and access the Documents, Workspaces, or Trash pages. This provides the advantage of not having to remember or reselect your search fields for subsequent searches.

Search fields are stored locally in the browser's cache for each individual library. If you switch to a different browser or to a different device, you will see the default search fields.

Restoring documents

NOTE:

If the parent folder is deleted, you cannot restore the documents.

Single document

This option is available on the:

  • Ribbon bar: Select documents to see this option on the ribbon bar.

  • Kebab menu: S elect an images/download/thumbnails/81009740/elipse.png icon adjacent to each document to see this option.

  • Context menu: Right-click a document to see this option.

The following steps are explained using one of the preceding options:

  1. Enter filter parameters in the search fields to retrieve deleted document.

  2. If no records found,

    • Select Reset Search Criteria in the lower-right corner of the Search Criteria section.

    If records are found,

    • Hover the mouse pointer over the desired document, right-click, and select Restore . The Restore dialog box appears.

      NOTE:

      Restore all versions check box is available only when multiple versions of the selected document are in Trash. If you want to restore all the document versions, select this check box, and click Restore.

      Enter the following details:

    1. In the On Behalf Of field, enter the user ID for whom you want to restore document for.

    2. Optionally enter the Audit Comment.

    3. Select Restore. The deleted document is restored, along with its metadata and security, to the parent folder from where it was deleted.

    4. When the restoration is successful, select Copy Link on the progress bar to copy the link to the document in iManage Work; one link is created for each document.

    5. Send the copied link to the user, whose document you have restored . The user can paste these links in a browser and open the document in iManage Work.

Multiple documents

This option is available on the ribbon bar when you select documents.

  1. Enter filter parameters in the search fields to retrieve deleted documents.

  2. If no records found,

    • Select Reset Search Criteria in the lower-right corner of the Search Criteria section.

    If records are found,

    • Hover the mouse pointer over the desired document, right-click, and select Restore . The Restore dialog box appears.

      NOTE:

      Restore all versions check box is available only when multiple versions of the selected documents are in Trash. If you want to restore all the documents' versions, select this check box, and click Restore.

      Enter the following details:

    1. In the On Behalf Of field, enter the user ID for whom you want to restore documents for.

    2. Enter the Audit Comment and select Restore. The deleted documents is restored, along with its metadata and security, to the parent folder from where they are deleted.

    3. When the restoration is successful, select Copy Link on the progress bar to copy the link to the documents in iManage Work; one link is created for each document.

    4. Send the copied link to the user, whose documents you have restored . The user can paste these links in a browser and open the documents in iManage Work.

Permanently Deleting documents

NOTE:

Only users with NRTADMIN privileges can permanently delete documents.

This feature enables you to permanently delete documents.

CAUTION:

You cannot undo this action and the permanently deleted documents cannot be restored in future.

Single document

This option is available on the:

  • Ribbon bar: Select documents to see this option on the ribbon bar.

  • Kebab menu: Select an images/download/thumbnails/81009740/elipse.png icon adjacent to each document to see this option.

  • Context menu: Right-click a document to see this option.

The following steps are explained using one of the preceding options:

  1. Enter filter parameters in search fields to retrieve deleted documents.

  2. If no records are found, refine your search criteria and select Search to perform another search.Select Clear Values in the lower-right corner of the Search Criteria section.

  3. If records are found, right-click the document and select Permanently Delete .
    The Permanently Delete dialog box appears
    .

  4. Confirm the action. If you select Delete , you receive an acknowledgement for the delete action. If you select Cancel , the delete action gets cancelled.

    NOTE:

    The Delete all versions check box is available when multiple versions of the selected document are in Trash. If you want to permanently delete all the document versions, select this check box and select Delete.

Multiple documents

This option is available on the ribbon bar when you select documents.

  1. After performing a search on the Trash page, place a check mark beside each document that you want to permanently delete.

  2. On the ribbon bar, select Permanently Delete . The Permanently Delete dialog box appears . Confirm the action. If you select Delete , you receive an acknowledgement for the delete action. If you select Cancel , the delete action gets cancelled.

    NOTE:

    The Delete all versions check box is available when multiple versions of the selected document are in Trash. If you want to permanently delete all the document versions, select this check box and select Delete.

Viewing document details

Use the following steps to view information about a document before permanently deleting or restoring it .

  • Kebab menu: Select an images/download/thumbnails/81009740/elipse.png icon adjacent to each document to see this option.

  • Context menu: Right-click a document to see this option.

  • Clickable link: I n the DOC#/Version column, select a document.

Use one of the above option and select View.

NOTE:

The Restore and Permanent delete actions can also be performed when you are on the View page.