Managing security

In the desktop view:

  1. Highlight a document in the list.

  2. Select images/download/attachments/74458674/image2017-10-25_16_13_31.png .

  3. On the right, select the Properties tab.

  4. Select View Security Details.
    The security panel appears.

  5. Make your changes:

    1. Select Add Users/Groups to search for new users and groups to add. The list of users added appears below this option

    2. For existing users and groups, select from the pull-down menu to change security settings: Full Access, Read Only, Read/Write, No Access, or Remove.

  6. Select Confirm.

In the mobile view:

  1. Highlight a document in the list.

  2. Select the kebab menu images/download/attachments/74458674/image2017-10-25_16_12_15.png and then select images/download/thumbnails/74458674/image2019-6-15_20-55-35.png Properties.

  3. Select View Security Details.

  4. Make your changes:

    1. Select Add Users/Groups to search for new users and groups to add. The list of users added appears below this option

    2. For existing users and groups, select from the pull-down menu to change security settings: Full Access, Read Only, Read/Write, No Access, or Remove.

  5. Select Confirm.

Select Add Users/Groups to search for users in order to grant them different security access than the specified default. The drop-down menu next to each name allows you to choose between Read Only, Read/Write, Full Access, No Access, and Remove.

Security concepts

iManage Work’s security model allows you to share information and collaborate on projects while keeping content secure. iManage Work ensures that users have access only to those documents that they are authorized for. Even search results are filtered according to a user’s access rights.

There are two types of security in iManage Work: role-based security and object-based access rights.

In role-based security, roles define the operations that a user can or cannot perform within the iManage Work system. The iManage Work administrator assigns privileges to a role and assigns a role to every iManage Work user.

Object-based access rights are security settings defined on iManage Work containers. The owner of the container (at the time of creation) sets security by deciding which user requires access to the container, and which user must not be allowed access to it. By default, items added to a container inherit the security settings of the container.

In most cases, when you are unable to access an item in iManage Work, the reason involves the item’s security settings or your system privileges.

External users and groups

An external user is a special type of iManage Work user account that your iManage Work Administrator must set up. This type of account helps manage user accounts for people outside your organization who require access to your iManage Work system. As with standard users, external users can be organized into groups.

General Security Rules

The following general security rules are in effect in iManage Work:

  • When a group is granted access privileges to a container or document, the same access rights are applied to all users who are members of the group.

  • iManage Work security is based on an optimistic model. This means that, whenever access privileges conflict, the greater access privilege is applied. For example, suppose you have Read access to a document because you are a member of Group 1. However, you also have Read/Write access to the document as an individual user. In this case, because your individual access level is higher, you will have Read/Write access when you open the document.

    NOTE:

    In some systems, your iManage Work Administrator can configure iManage Work to resolve conflicts using a pessimistic security model. In this case, the lower access privilege of the user or group is applied. For more information, contact your iManage Work Administrator.

  • Roles take precedence over user/group access rights on iManage Work containers. For example, a user who has Full Access on a document folder generally has the right to import documents into that folder. However, if a user’s role does not allow importing documents, the user cannot import documents.

  • The author (the user who created the document) and the operator (the user who imported the document) always retain Full Access, regardless of the default security level.