Syncing a Co-authored Document

Applies to: iManage Work Desktop for Windows, Classic Office Integration, DeskSite and FileSite

Syncing takes the latest copy of a co-authoring document and saves it as a new version in iManage Work. The original document remains checked out so that users can continue modifying the document. This can be useful in scenarios where the document is being modified over a period of time but other users who are not a part of co-authoring want to view and track the changes being made to the document.

iManage Work Desktop for Windows and Classic Office Integration

  1. On the iManage tab, in the Co-Authoring group, select Sync. Alternately, s elect a document from the Co-Authored Documents list, double-click to open it, and i n the Co-Authoring group, select Sync.
    A dialog box appears asking you to confirm if you want to synchronize the document from OneDrive for Business to iManage Work.

  2. Select Yes . A confirmation dialog box appears if some user is still editing the document. Select Yes.
    The changes are saved as a new version. The document remains checked out but the version number is updated. The Co-Authored Documents list displays this latest version.

DeskSite

  1. Select a checked out co-authoring document from the document list and select Sync on the Co-Authoring ribbon.
    A dialog box appears asking you to confirm if you want to synchronize the document from your co-authoring drive to iManage Work.

  2. Select Yes. A confirmation dialog box appears if some user is still editing the document. Select Yes.
    The changes are saved as a new version. The document remains checked out but the version number is updated in the Version column of the Document Grid. The Document Versions tab displays this latest version along with other previous versions.

FileSite

  1. Select a checked out co-authoring document from the document list and select Sync on the Co-Authoring ribbon.
    A dialog box appears asking you to confirm if you want to synchronize the document from your co-authoring drive to iManage Work.

  2. Select Yes. A confirmation dialog box appears if some user is still editing the document. Select Yes.
    The changes are saved as a new version. The document remains checked out but the version number is updated in the Version column of the Document Grid. The Document Versions tab displays this latest version along with other previous versions.