Enriched metadata properties add context and classification to your documents, improving searchability, organization, and AI-driven automation. This page explains how to view, interpret, and edit these properties and how to control when automatic enrichment runs versus when your manual edits are preserved.

In this section:

Viewing and interpreting enriched properties

All users can view enriched metadata properties in the document Properties panel, and when using search and filters. These properties display their current values and, if editable, allow users with read/write access to update the information.

AI-enriched properties are automatically populated by the system and marked with the image-20250516-163845.png AI icon. This icon indicates that the value was generated by AI. The icon remains until a user manually modifies any enriched property. If a manual edit occurs, AI icons are removed from all AI enriched fields for that document version, and the document version is no longer AI-managed.

Editable versus read-only properties

There are ten iManage AI-enriched properties.

Editable (read/write access required):

  • Category

  • Agreement Date

  • Governing Law

  • Heading

  • Jurisdiction

  • Parties

  • Enrichment Disabled

Read-only (administrative):

  • Enrichment Date

  • Enrichment Status Code

  • Enrichment Version

NOTE: The read-only administrative properties appear in the Properties panel only if they’ve been configured by your administrator and contain values.

Manually editing an enriched property

By default, AI enrichment runs automatically on all new content. Users with read/write access can manually edit enriched metadata properties in the document Properties panel.

If a user edits any enriched metadata property (including deleting a value), the system automatically sets Enrichment Disabled to Yes for that document version, disabling and locking enrichment for the entire version. Refer to Understanding the Enrichment Disabled field for what this means in practice.

By default, the Enrichment Disabled setting is inherited by subsequent document versions.

NOTES:

  • Any value in the Enrichment Disabled field (Yes or No) indicates a manual override. Clearing the field restores automatic enrichment behavior.

  • Editing or removing the Category property does not cause any other enriched metadata values to be edited or removed.

Understanding the Enrichment Disabled field

Users with read/write or higher access may manually change the Enrichment Disabled field to control when enrichment runs:

Table: Enrichment Disabled behavior

Value

Enrichment behavior

When enrichment runs

image-20250516-163845.png AI icon in Properties panel

Yes

Disabled and locked.
Manual changes are preserved.

Doesn’t run, even if the document is opened, edited, or reindexed.

Not displayed.

No

Allowed, conditional

Next open or edit. Manual changes are preserved until then.

Displayed.
To view the updated values, refresh or reopen the document.

Not set (cleared)

Default behavior. No override is applied.

Immediately. Automatic enrichment resumes immediately for that version.

Displayed.

NOTE: In iManage Next Gen Platform the Enrichment Disabled field supports only two states: Yes and No. The Not set (cleared) state described above is available in iManage Work Web but not in iManage Next Gen Platform. This doesn’t affect or remove any functionality.

Clearing Enrichment Disabled after a manual edit triggers enrichment to overwrite a previously manually edited value if it repopulates that property. To keep a manually edited value in place, leave Enrichment Disabled set to Yes rather than clearing it.

TIP: After clearing the Enrichment Disabled field (setting it to Not set), you can confirm that enrichment has resumed by checking Enrichment Date in the Properties panel. When enrichment runs, the Enrichment Date updates to the current date and time, typically within a minute or two. You may need to refresh your browser to see the updated values.

Re-enabling enrichment

Manually editing a property (including deleting a value) sets Enrichment Disabled to Yes for that version, and this setting is inherited by subsequent versions by default (for more information, refer to Manually editing an enriched property and Understanding the Enrichment Disabled field).

For Insight+ users, re-enabling enrichment ensures that the document version is included in Insight+ analytics and dashboards. If enrichment was disabled due to early configuration (for example, CSV import before propagation completed), resetting the Enrichment Disabled field allows Insight+ to process and include the document in analytics.

To re-enable enrichment, users with read/write access can do one of the following for a document version:

  • Set Enrichment Disabled to Not set (cleared): Automatic enrichment resumes immediately.

  • Set Enrichment Disabled to No: Enrichment is allowed and runs the next time the document is opened or edited.

Triggering enrichment

In addition to changing the Enrichment Disabled field (described above), you can trigger enrichment on a document in the following ways:

  • Edit the document content: Saving a new version of the file content triggers re-enrichment automatically.

  • Re-upload the document: This creates a new document, which is enriched as a new item.