The iManage platform allows you to change security in two ways:

  • Configuring default security behavior in User Settings

  • Updating security for individual documents or workspaces

Setting default security behavior

The Security tab in User Settings controls how the platform applies security changes when you update security for a workspace or folder, or when you move documents or folders.

To open Security settings:

  1. In the top-right corner, select the Settings (gear) icon. User Settings opens in the General tab.

  2. Select Security.

Configuring default behavior

The settings are grouped as follows:

  • Matter Security: Update Matter Security: When changing security on a matter, apply changes to all contained folders and documents.

  • Folder Security: Update Folder Security: When changing security on a folder, apply changes to all contained documents, and subfolders.

  • Move Operations: Move documents: Apply destination security when moving a document.

  • Move folders: Apply destination security when moving a folder and its contents.

Each setting offers three options. Choose one for each of the above settings:

  • Always Ask: Prompts you every time.

  • Auto Apply: Applies the change automatically without prompting.

  • Never Apply: Never applies the change.

Adjusting detailed security options

Each setting has a Settings (gear) icon that opens a dialog with detailed options.

Additionally, the Matter and Folder security options include:

  • Apply changes only or Overwrite security: Select whether to update with the specified changes or replace existing security entirely.

  • Subfolders: Select Include subfolders that don't inherit parent security to apply changes to those subfolders.

  • Private Items: Select one or both of the following options:

    • Skip items Private only to me: Excludes private items with no users or groups added.

    • Skip Private items with shared access: Excludes items visible only to specific users or groups.

  • Document Versions: Select Change all versions or Change only latest version.

  • Multi-Location Files: Select Skip security changes or Change Security.

Select Save Settings to apply your changes, or Cancel to discard them.

Changing security for a workspace, folder, or document individually

You can change the security for an individual document, folder, or workspace from its Security pane.

  1. Select the workspace, folder, or document and then select three dots and select Security.

    1. The Security pane opens and displays the item's name, version, and current security settings.

  2. Under Security Level, select a level from the drop-down: Public, View, or Private.

  3. Review the Author listed for the item.

  4. For a workspaces and folder, use Apply to contents to propagate the security settings to all items in the workspace.

    1. Select Always Ask, Auto Apply, or Never Apply. Use the Settings (gear) icon to open the detailed options.

  5. Under Access List, select Add to grant access to a user or group, provided you have permissions to provide access.

NOTE: If you remove a user or group from the Access List, select Undo to restore their access. Any access levels you change stay highlighted while the Security pane is open.

  1. Under Guest Users, select Share to provide access to a guest user. This option is available for documents only.

NOTE: The Access List shows the number of users and groups with access.