Administrators can apply and action disposition policies to electronic and physical client or matter material consistently, regardless of location. Content no longer needs to be moved into the document management system to manage its disposition. Manage in place enables disposition of records sourced to a file system, to be deleted through the iManage Filesystem Agent.

If you sign up for IRM to use an iManage Filesystem Agent, electronic content can be stored on a disk and be disposition managed by IRM.

Deleting Records from Filesystem

  1. Launch the IRM Library Manager and browse to the Metadata node.

  2. Right-click on Location > Add, the new Add Location dialog opens.

  3. Add a new location type with the following properties:

    • ID: External 

    • Name: Ext Storage

    • PARENT_REQUIRED: FALSE

    • STORAGE PROVIDER: Filesystem

  4. Launch IRM Desktop Client for Records Managers, and browse to the Administration tab.

  5. Create a new location. In the location type dialog box, select Filesystem. Select OK.

  6. Right-click the newly created location, select Edit Storage Provider Settings; the Edit Storage Provider Settings dialog opens.

  7. Select Add, and the Add Storage Provider Settings dialog opens.

  8. Update the following fields:

    • Setting: Enter the root path.

    • Value: Provide the full UNC root path that you specified in the Filesystem agent configuration file <host name>.

  9. Create a file part. Update the following fields:

    • Media type: Select External Digital Content.

    • Retention schedule: Select a retention schedule from the list of created schedules.

    • Home Location: Select the new location created for Filesystem.

    • Storage ID: Mentions the storage ID that corresponds to the ‌folder or file in the file system.

  10. Select OK.

  11. Right-click the new file part and select Dispose Records, select Yes. The Disposition Processing dialog opens.

  12. Update the following fields:

    • Selected event type: select  and then select Destroy.

    • Authorized by: select  and then select your user ID.

  13. Select Process. The file part is disposed.

  14. Press Fn+F5 to refresh. The record status is now updated to Destroyed.

  15. The corresponding electronic record on the File System will be deleted.