A retention hold enables you to override or suspend destruction event types, because of an audit, litigation, investigation, or other unplanned actions. When a hold is applied to an item, the application automatically applies the hold on all the sub-items. For example, if a hold is applied to a matter, all file parts within the matter have the same hold applied. Likewise, if the hold is modified or removed, all items on which it is applied are updated with the new hold criteria.
The item, and sub-items are excluded from any destruction activities. However, they can be archived, circulated, and otherwise managed. After a hold expires, or is removed, any pre-existing retention schedules are restored.
This section includes the following topics: