Configured self-maintaining rules enable users from source systems to be added to client teams or removed from client team, if users meet the rule criteria. Self-maintaining rules can be configured under the Staffing tab of a client. Rules are set on the client for the inherited matters.
All the users who post hours for any inherited matter or perform a specific type of activity on documents related to an inherited matter are automatically added to the client team, if they conform to the rules defined on the client.
NOTE:
The type of user document activity that SPM takes into account when applying self-maintaining rules can be specified in accordance with the requirements of your organization. For more information, including instructional steps, see the Scheduled iManage Work Activity Import section in iManage Security Policy Manager Installation Guide.
NOTE:
Any reference to "document activity" in this Guide relates to the type of document activity that has been specified in the preceding note.
In case of open matters, rules are defined at the matter level. Users who post hours for any open matter or perform document activity on documents related to an open matter are automatically added to the client team.
Activity on individually restricted matters is considered for open clients, and for restricted clients with "Limited to users named under Client staffing" security. However, activity on individually restricted matters is not considered for restricted clients with "Not limited to users named under Client staffing" security: for clients with this type of security, this means that no users from the individually restricted matter can be added to client staffing by self-maintaining rule.
If users post hours or perform a document activity on an inherited matter, they are automatically prevented from accessing an opposing matter. The users need not be on the staffing of the current matter.
NOTE:
Self-Maintaining Rules rely on data from the Billing Activity feed and/or the Document Activity feed. You can proceed to create rules without these being enabled, but a warning message will be displayed. For information on how to enable, or configure the period of such activity feeds, see Activity Feeds in Settings>General.
When configured, self-maintaining rules are executed daily, at midnight.
On the Client Details page, click the Staffing tab.
The Staffing page appears.
Alternatively,
On the Client Details page, in the Overview tab, click View Staffing.
The Staffing page appears.Click . The Self-Maintaining Rules dialog box appears.
Before creating a Self-Maintaining Rule, consideration should be given to the availability of billing or document activity data: Self-Maintaining Rules rely on data from the Billing Activity feed and/or the Document Activity feed. You can proceed to create rules without these being enabled, but a warning message will be displayed. A panel is also displayed in the Self-Maintaining Rules dialog box advising of the current billing and document activity period specified in SPM settings. You can nonetheless create a rule specifying a period longer than that of the relevant activity data period if required.
For information on how to enable, or configure the period of such activity feeds, see Activity Feeds in Settings>General.Automatically Add Users
Set the rules as follows:
Enter a value for one, or both, of Time Posted Exceeds (hours and minutes) and Activity Exceeds (number), under Billing Activity or Document Activity, respectively.
In the Past period, which you can select from the dropdown menu. The Fixed Date option enables you to specify a date in the past from which to define the beginning of the rule period.
All the users that meet the criteria set in the rules are added to the client team, when the rule executes.
If you want to omit certain users from getting added to the client through self-maintaining rules, click Omit Users. The Omit Users dialog box appears.
Select the check boxes in the user rows who you want to add to the omit user list. To select all available users, select the uppermost check box on the left, or, if a user has already been selected, you can also select Select All n Items, where n represents the number of items available for selection. Click OK. The users are added to the list and are displayed in the Automatically Add Users tab of Self-Maintaining Rules dialog box under the Omitted Users section. These users are not added to the client team even if they meet the rules criteria.
Click OK. The rules criteria is now set for the client. When the rule executes, all the users meeting the rules criteria and not part of the omitted users list, are automatically added to the client team.
TIP:
The values you enter for Time Posted Exceeds and Activity Exceeds for this type of 'additive' self-maintaining rule are used as defaults for Billing Activity and Import Activity filters in the User Activity > Custom filter of Staffing > Add Members. The Add Members list can be viewed to quickly assess how the rule will be applied when it executes. If the filter is altered and then Restored, it restores to the corresponding values of the self-maintaining rule.
Automatically Remove Users
Set the rules as follows:
Enter a value for one, or both, of Time Posted Exceeds (hours and minutes) and Activity Exceeds (number), under Billing Activity or Document Activity, respectively.
In the Past period, which you can select from the dropdown menu. The Fixed Date option enables you to specify a date in the past from which to define the beginning of the rule period.
All the users that meet the criteria set in the rules are removed from the client team, when the rule executes.
If you want to omit certain users from being removed from the client through self-maintaining rules, click Omit Users. The Omit Users dialog box appears.
Select the check boxes in the user rows who you want to add to the omit user list. To select all available users, select the uppermost check box on the left, or, if a user has already been selected, you can also select Select All n Items, where n represents the number of items available for selection. Click OK. The users are added to the list and are displayed in the Automatically Remove Users tab of Self-Maintaining Rules dialog box under the Omitted Users section. These users are not removed from the client team even if they meet the rules criteria.
Click OK. The rules criteria are now set for the client. When the rule executes, all the users meeting the rules criteria and not part of the omitted users list, and not added to the team within the period(s) specified by the rules, are automatically removed from the client team.
NOTE:
An icon and tooltip are provided against all users who are added to the client team through self-maintaining rules stating the reason for their addition. This enables the applicable client administrator to understand why a user was auto-added to the team.
If users are on the client team, through self-maintaining rules, and they are removed from the client team, then they are placed on the Omit Users list.
If users are on the client team, through self-maintaining rules, and then manually added to the Omit Users list, the icon and tooltip beside them are removed from the Staffing list. Users remain on the client team unless they are manually removed from the team.
If the users are removed from the client team, they are not re-added to the client team when the rule subsequently executes as they are on the Omit User list of the client.