Configured self-maintaining rules enable users from source systems to be added to case teams, or removed from the case team, if users meet the rule criteria. Self-maintaining rules can be configured under the Staffing tab of a case.
Rules are set on the case for both open and restricted cases. When you add matters under a case, the current users on the matters are added to the case based on the rules set on the matters at that time, but when the matter is added to the case, the matter's self-maintaining rules are cleared and the matter is subject to any self-maintaining rule applied to the case. Conforming to rules set on one matter (at the time of addition of such matter) is sufficient for a user to get added to the case.
NOTE:
Self-maintaining rules of a matter are cleared when that matter is added to a case. If the matter is removed from the case, the original self-maintaining rules for that matter are not retained, and need to be added again, if required.
If users posted hours or performed a document activity on an matter before they were added under the case, they are automatically prevented from accessing an opposing case/matter. The users need not be on the staffing of the current matter/case.
NOTE:
Self-Maintaining Rules rely on data from the Billing Activity feed and/or the Document Activity feed. You can proceed to create rules without these being enabled, but a warning message will be displayed. For information on how to enable, or configure the period of such activity feeds, see Activity Feeds in Settings>General.
When configured, self-maintaining rules are executed daily, at midnight.
On the Case Details page, click the Staffing tab.
The Staffing page appears.
Alternatively,
On the Case Details page, in the Overview tab, click View Staffing.
The Staffing page appears.Click . The Self-Maintaining Rules dialog box appears.
Before creating a Self-Maintaining Rule, consideration should be given to the availability of billing or document activity data: Self-Maintaining Rules rely on data from the Billing Activity feed and/or the Document Activity feed. You can proceed to create rules without these being enabled, but a warning message will be displayed. A panel is also displayed in the Self-Maintaining Rules dialog box advising of the current billing and document activity period specified in SPM settings. You can nonetheless create a rule specifying a period longer than that of the relevant activity data period if required.
For information on how to enable, or configure the period of such activity feeds, see Activity Feeds in Settings>General.Automatically Add Users
Set the rules as follows:
Enter a value for one, or both, of Time Posted Exceeds (hours and minutes) and Activity Exceeds (number), under Billing Activity or Document Activity, respectively.
In the Past period, which you can select from the dropdown menu. The Fixed Date option enables you to specify a date in the past from which to define the beginning of the rule period.
All the users that meet the criteria set in the rules are added to the case team, when the rule executes. If you want to omit certain users from getting added to the case through self-maintaining rules, click Omit Users. The Omit Users dialog box appears.
Select the check boxes in the user rows who you want to add to the omit user list. To select all available users, select the uppermost check box on the left, or, if a user has already been selected, you can also select Select All n Items, where n represents the number of items available for selection. Click OK. The users are added to the list and are displayed in the Automatically Add Users tab of Self-Maintaining Rules dialog box under the Omitted Users section. These users are not added to the case team even if they meet the rules criteria.
Click OK. The rules criteria is now set for the case. When the rule executes, all the users meeting the rules criteria and not part of the omitted users list, are automatically added to the case team.
Automatically Remove Users
Set the rules as follows:
Enter a value for one, or both, of Time Posted Exceeds (hours and minutes) and Activity Exceeds (number), under Billing Activity or Document Activity, respectively.
In the Past period, which you can select from the dropdown menu. The Fixed Date option enables you to specify a date in the past from which to define the beginning of the rule period.
All the users that meet the criteria set in the rules are removed from the case team, when the rule executes.
If you want to omit certain users from getting added to the case through self-maintaining rules, click Omit Users. The Omit Users dialog box appears.
Select the check boxes in the user rows who you want to add to the omit user list. To select all available users, select the uppermost check box on the left, or, if a user has already been selected, you can also select Select All n Items, where n represents the number of items available for selection. Click OK. The users are added to the list and are displayed in the Automatically Remove Users tab of Self-Maintaining Rules dialog box under the Omitted Users section. These users are not removed from the case team even if they meet the rules criteria.
Click OK. The rules criteria is now set for the case. When the rule executes, all the users meeting the rules criteria and not part of the omitted users list, and not added to the team within the period(s) specified by the rule(s), are automatically removed from the case team.
NOTE:
An icon and tooltip is provided against all users who are added to the case team through self-maintaining rules stating the reason for their addition. This enables the applicable case administrator to understand why a user was auto-added to the team.
If users are on the case team, through self-maintaining rules, and they are removed from the case team, then they are placed on the Omit Users list.
If users are on the case team, through self-maintaining rules, and then manually added to the Omit Users list, the icon and tooltip beside them are removed from the Staffing list. Users remain on the case team unless they are manually removed from the team.
If the users are removed from the case team, they are not re-added to the case team when the rule subsequently executes as they are on the Omit User list of the case.