The Automated and Requires Review options let you select the right balance between operational efficiency (Automated) and human oversight (Requires Review) based on the sensitivity and criticality of the content to be governed.
NOTE: The Requires Review option isn't available for the following event types:
Declare All Versions
Declare Latest Version
When Automated is:
Selected: Eligible tasks are run once per day at 3:00 P.M. UTC.
Not selected: Tasks must be processed individually and manually by Records Managers before they're run.
When Requires Review is:
Selected: The tasks must be reviewed by a mapped Disposition reviewer, if an active Disposition reviewer is available, before the records can be destroyed. Records Managers can also review and approve records on behalf of Disposition reviewers.
Not selected: Records are destroyed without review when the retention is met. The processing requirement is still enforced, if the Automated option is selected.
IMPORTANT: When records are destroyed, they're deleted from iManage Work at cloudimanage.com and can't be retrieved or restored.
Records aren't destroyed immediately when events to destroy records are created, or added to a schedule, or applied to workspaces, folders, or subfolders. Records are destroyed when tasks defined by these destroy events are run manually or automatically.
The following table describes what happens to events when a combination of Automated and Requires Review options are selected or not selected.
Table: Combination of Automated and Requires Review options
Event type | Is Automated selected? | Is Requires Review selected? | Description |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yes | Not available | This event type is automated, meaning it declares documents when its criteria are met—for example, if the period defined is 30 days and the retention date field is the close date and the close date defined is April 20, 2026. Then, either all versions of the record are declared or the latest version of the record is declared after 30 days from April 20, 2026. The automation runs at 3:00 P.M. UTC. |
No | Not available | The event type isn't automated, meaning Records Managers have to manually process the tasks before they are run. | |
| No | No | The tasks have to be manually processed by Records Managers, but don't require any review by Disposition Reviewers even when they are mapped reviewers. |
No | Yes | The event type isn't automated and requires manual processing from Records Managers and also review from Disposition Reviewers (for example, an attorney), if an active Disposition reviewer is available. Records Managers can also review and approve or deny records for Disposition Reviewers. | |
Yes | No | Doesn't require manual processing from Records Managers and no review from Disposition Reviewers. | |
Yes | Yes | The event is automated but requires review from a Disposition Reviewer (for example, an attorney), if an active Disposition reviewer is available, before the records can be destroyed. Records Managers can also review and approve or deny records for Disposition Reviewers. The destruction task is triggered when:
| |
Make workspace/folder read-only | No | No | The tasks have to be manually processed but don't require any review by Records Managers or Disposition Reviewers. |
No | Yes | The event type isn't automated and requires review from a Disposition Reviewer and manual processing from Records Managers. An email isn't triggered for these events, but is available in the list of tasks that require approval. | |
Yes | No | The event is automated and doesn't require any manual processing from Records Managers or review from Disposition Managers. The task is run at 3:00 P.M. UTC when the eligibility criteria are met. | |
Yes | Yes | The event is automated but requires review from a Disposition Reviewer. An email isn't triggered for these events, but is available in the list of tasks that require approval. After approval, the task is run at 3:00 P.M. UTC when the eligibility criteria are met. |
Additionally, Records Managers can also transfer ownership using the Transfer Workspace/Folder Ownership field and select the new owner in the New owner field when using the Make workspace/folder read-only event.
When ownership is transferred to the selected user, the previous owner's access is changed to read-only.
NOTE: The tasks aren't run if:
Holds are applied and the hold is still active and not expired.
Records Managers or Disposition Reviewers, if still active, have denied the tasks.