If the security policies in your organization restrict write access to external devices, files of scanned data can't be automatically deleted from the mobile device by IRM Barcode Scanner Operations upon processing. We recommend that such data be cleared after processing, to free up storage space on the device and streamline subsequent processing of new data.

There are several ways in which the application helps to manage the clearance of such data.

Clear data after processing

A prompt is shown by default when you disconnect the device from a computer. A message Do you wish to clear all previous transactions from device? is displayed.

  1. If you've just uploaded and processed data to the Windows computer running the Barcode Scanner Operations program, as described in Uploading Data to Records Manager, the data from the device will be saved to that computer. In this case, select Yes.

  2. If you've undocked the device without uploading and processing data—for example, if you had connected the device to charge it, select No.

If required, this prompt can be turned off:

  1. Access the device settings.

  2. For the Prompt to clear previous transactions on device undocking: setting, select No.

  3. Select Save.
    The data clearance prompt is longer displayed after undocking.

Clear data manually

You can also clear data manually, whenever required.

  1. Access the device settings.

  2. For the Clear all previous transactions from device: setting, select Clear Data.
    The Do you wish to clear all previous transactions from device? message is displayed.

  3. Select Yes. Previous transactions are deleted from the device.
    To confirm this, navigate to the View/Delete Items list and check that it's empty.