Revoking write access for editors

When the file owner revokes the write access or full access to one or more editors during a co-authoring session, they can no longer edit the file. In these circumstances, if they try to edit the file, the following Microsoft error messages are displayed. We recommend that users copy their edits into another file to ensure that they do not lose their changes.

NOTE:

If one or more editors lose write or full access to a file during a co-authoring session, all the other editors co-authoring file are requested to refresh their browser to continue with their edits. In such scenarios, we recommend that the users copy their edits into another file before refreshing their browser.

Figure: Error message displayed when edits cannot be saved

images/download/attachments/125068395/image-20210914-233234.png

When a user loses the write access or full access and tries to edit the document, Microsoft Office for the web displays the following error message :

Figure: Error message when trying to edit after losing write access or full access

images/download/attachments/125068395/image-20210914-232306.png

Similarly, when a user loses even view access to the file while editing it, Microsoft Office for the web displays the following error message:

Figure: Error message displayed when trying to edit after losing even view access

images/download/attachments/125068395/image-20210914-230823.png